Poets logo

Silent Struggle

Whispers

By NAOMI ADENIJIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Silent Struggle
Photo by 泽新 李 on Unsplash

As the dawn fell upon the land

A sight I could ne'er phantom

People with spirits, lacking a soul

Whose silent footsteps left a mark of pain on my soul

They walked past me never stopping to ask for help

Heads held down as in a prayer

But this was not so

There I stood contemplating what the problem was

I heard it coming from not too far away

Laughter!

I swear I heard it

I traced the sound with my ears, my feet following suit

Racing breaking my own speed limit

What I saw before me barely separated, but that was all it took

They were far away enough to see what they had caused

But not near enough to partake in it

I saw the people being thrown off the edge, swimming to shore

Bearing the same expression on their faces

Invoking joy in those who had pushed them off

I do not know where I got the strength

But I flew, Yes I did!

Bridging the cap, I was almost there, I swear I was

I felt my wings being clipped

My efforts to help stamped on and extinguished like a match stick

Before I was cast back whence I came from

I bore the mark of shame, of failure

I looked at my destroyed wings

Would I ever get the strength to grow them back out again?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

NAOMI ADENIJI

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.