Poets logo

Deserving of Love

Naomi Adeniji

By NAOMI ADENIJIPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Deserving of Love
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Just maybe I was only meant to be loved

The only explanation that comes to mind

Nothing else seems basely logical

The love I have in me evaporated

Sucked dry by nonreciprocity

I can only hold on for so long,

Before I begin to lose myself to the calls of despair

Filling back up is harder than thought

It is way more difficult to give than to receive

That barely makes sense to me but the truth rarely does.

Little by little my empty fuel tank gets filled up

As soon as it is I snap back the lid

it'll never escape this time

No more sharing, I promise myself

"I was never meant to just be loved

I was meant to love and to be loved"

What a blatant lie of a promise I made that would never last

I tried to hold on but he had the key

A key I never gave him,

which he crudely made but still fit like an original

He unlocked my love without permission

I was never meant to just be loved

I was meant to love and to be loved

love poems
2

About the Creator

NAOMI ADENIJI

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    This piece of writing is simply brilliant. I liked it a lot.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.