Poets logo

Silent Pictures

Remind me of all I lost

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
16
Silent Pictures
Photo by Charisse Kenion on Unsplash

My glorious silent pictures

Standing tall in their frames,

Both mine and your face’s

Nobody knows our names.

***

School days and loving

A special embrace,

Heartache and tears

They all have a place.

***

Every picture is special

A perfect reminder of time,

Times when we were happy

Times when you were mine.

***

Those days are all over

Taking the love we enjoyed,

We did nothing to face it

In fact we did all to avoid.

***

We knew things were hard

But we pushed it away,

Buried our heads in the sand

With nothing to say.

***

If only we’d worked together

Thought about what we knew,

If only we’d then realised

We may have fought through.

***

We know now love is a treasure

Far too rare to let slip by,

If our love was worth having

Then we both should have tried.

***

I treasure my silent pictures

They remind me of all I lost,

The feelings they raise

Are well worth the cost.

***************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

surreal poetry
16

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was so sad yet beautiful

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.