Poets logo

Sight For Sore Eyes

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Set your sights for a highness that can never mishappen.

Let your heart form to shades of white that can never be blackened.

There’s a sight for only your eyes, though it can make your eyes sore.

I had my first taste of blood and now I need more.

More smoke in my lungs, I can’t remember the strain but it’s on the tip of my tongue.

More money to my name. I’ll never need again, and I won’t be the same.

Power’s a sight for sore eyes. So much of it but never enough.

The truth will prevail, so I’m calling your bluff.

This is what I have but it’s not what I wanted.

If I don’t understand then I just kind of got it..

I place my soul down to retrieve the endowment.

My sweaty skin is left my only garment.

And my words are weapons of lifetimes to master.

But more difficult to think when your blood’s pumping faster.

Ne’re must thou hunger. Indeed, what is absolved be thy pain.

Even the sky pokes out the cloudy rain.

Freedom’s a sight for sore eyes, whilst abundant in bloodline, it seems as though it’s never yours.

Bitter your love enchains you in a dungeon stuck down on all floors.

While you’re the sight for sore eyes, I’m over you, then like the wind, hither thy come!

My blackened heart found never the warmth, in the cold, as well become numb.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Desmond RazzanoWritten by Desmond Razzano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.