Poets logo

False-Positive

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

I fake that I understand but baby I don’t get it.

I’m addicted to my pain, so baby I can’t quit it.

I burned a bridge behind me, sadly yes, I lit it.

Affirming an emergency, and baby, guess who did it.

That one’s on me.. Facing all my demons, if they’re ready or not, here I come.

I take in all the smoke, then I inhale it to my lungs.

Hands are full of pills, over my lips and through my gums.

If I still feel a pulse, then baby we’re not done.

So call that shot for me!

If it is not my job, then it is not prerogative.

Please don’t test my patience, it’s a false-positive.

I could use a friend but I want something more provocative.

If they really love you, they should be much more cooperative.

Let’s pretend we're happy, but we’re not really smiling.

I thought I took an inch, turns out that I was miling.

Late to my own funeral, but that’s because I’m styling!

When my ex needs 911, I’ll just pretend I’m dialing.

I’ve pockets full of sunshine, money makes me optative.

I’ve no use for threats, because I always keep my promises.

I’m diagnosed with sane but it’s just false-positive.

I can talk for hours, but I’m not into politics.

I’d give you all I have, when I don’t have a lot to give.

I try to be more humble, still I’m learning to forgive. Don’t want him to die for me, for me, he can live. There’s no false-positives.

surreal poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Desmond RazzanoWritten by Desmond Razzano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.