Poets logo

Shut the world out.

I have nothing to say!

By Dee Dee Published 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Shut the world out.
Photo by Mads Schmidt Rasmussen on Unsplash

Shut the world out, I have nothing to say, I’m tired of explaining how I feel today.

Do I look at you with a vacant stare, look into my eyes, there's nobody there?

Exchange pleasantries on the weather today, no, thank you, it’s another dark day.

Lost in a mind that wanders around, searching for traces that I may be found.

By Simon Berger on Unsplash

Doctors look, family and friends too, they shrug as they say what can we do?

Listen to me, understand how I feel, I have no words today, but maybe tomorrow I will.

Today I need to sit here and reflect on days gone by, I have no wish to chat or not even try.

It’s not that I’m not thankful for those who do ask, but the chipping away won’t loosen this mask.

I’m holding it in because I can’t face the pain, of losing you all over again.

Cause when people say, are you alright? It takes me back to that day and that night!

Then there are others that think grief has a date, that makes my blood boil that attitude I hate.

No one knows the love carried in one’s heart. No, one can measure on graphs or on charts.

Don’t tell me months or years have gone by, I should pull myself together, wipe my eyes and not cry.

Don’t sit there and judge me cause you think that you’re stronger. Maybe the love in my heart hurts deeper and longer.

Shut the world out I have nothing to say, I’m tired of explaining how I feel today.

By M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Dee Dee

A love of writing started at an early age. Writing is there through the good times & bad times. It’s my go to!

Culture, heritage, mental health, family & people, is where my writing takes me most.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.