Poets logo

Showed in selflove

When I fell in love from across the room… with my reflection. *Late admission to challenge*

By BBPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Showed in selflove
Photo by Tuva Mathilde Løland on Unsplash

My hands had gripped the counter

The condensation soaked the walls

My heartbeat pounding in my ears

No noise to hear, no calls

My skin, slick and wet

That shower did me well

Droplets, yes dew drops

Raining Down my body, my shell

The warmth of the room

The tender care as I dry

This body has carried me

Throughout All of my life

A hair strand misplaced

Sticks soft to my cheek

Like a caress from myself

No need to feel weak

That scorching water washing

Down away the fears in my life

The soap making bubbles and encompass

Tiny rainbows showing me light.

This moment, This second

My own body and soul

It’s my choice to make

As I ascend from my hole

I wipe the mirror clear

Gaze deep in my eyes

The reflection of someone

Craving more of life’s highs

My body quivers on inhale

The feelings rise up in my core

No matter what the past brought

I see it now, I am more

More than I had ever thought

More than my soul could comprehend

The love I felt inside myself

Could not be hurt or torn or bent

I took in my reflection

And finally saw the light

That this body is my temple

My mind, heart, and happiness

Is mine to own, it’s my right.

I have to love myself foremost

The quirks that make me me

My unique one and only self

I’ll be the person I know I can be.

My body now dry

My soul is revived

And My love for myself…

Has survived, grown and thrived

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.