Poets logo

SHOW Me

Poetry

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
SHOW Me
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

SHOW ME

I tried a few times
I always failed
Being human is weakness by itself
Grace became too hard for me to claim
My sins, too hard for me to face.

Being a better person isn't as easy as they say
The light is a flower covered with thorns
And Whetted leaves
Surrounded by cutting grass
Growing on soil filled with broken glass
I see at last my salvation
Only to know I could never reach it.

Please,
Understand the weakness that is a part of me as much as are the cells in my otiose body
Claiming that I'm stronger wouldn't make me
So I won't dare lie.

Please,
I'm not saying it's too much
Just that I'm to frail to handle it
I know no good deed goes unpunished
I know I must bleed but show me how not to bleed too much
Let me feel a study heartbeat so I don't pace
Tell me that I am not my mistakes
That although my sins can't be erased they can be forgiven
That I have underestimated my strength
That my chance of deliverance didn't quite fade
Show me that I'm not all body and no soul
That I'm not too monster to tame
Show me....the gates of heaven aren't that far away.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.