Poets logo

Shot of Whiskey

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
15

I’m not everyone’s cup of tea

But that is fine with me

I have no one to please

As I write with ease

Creating fantasy lands

Where live Poison Penny and the Weedans

Weaving words of love and hate into one

Disgorging out words until I am entirely done

Jokingly weaving a tale of myself

Or (maybe) creating a post about yourself

These things can only be known

By the one the words own

I may not be everyone’s cup of tea

But that’s alright because I am me

I can be sweet or a bitch and

I don’t care because my husband

Loves me just the way I am

Plus, I have friends; now, scram

I don’t care if you like me

Can you not see?

I have merits you’ve ignored

So, I’m going to get my reward

Even though it’s mighty risky

Because I’m my husband’s shot of whiskey

slam poetryProseFor Funfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
15

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk10 days ago

    agree with Dana on this one!

  • Mariann Carroll12 days ago

    You are my cup of tea. I love you direct honesty

  • Mic drop! This was so freaking powerful! I loved it!

  • Kalina Bethany13 days ago

    The last line needs to be the chorus of a song!! Love this piece Mother 😜

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Love this one, especially that last line..

  • Jay Kantor13 days ago

    Dear StepMom — As a ‘Tea’~Tolder you always seem to ‘Disgorge’ onto Me. L’Chaim 🥃 Btw; Does your Hubby know about us? - StepSon, JB -

  • Dana Crandell13 days ago

    Served up neat and raw, just as a shot of the good stuff should be. Cheers!

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    I love the attitude and flow of this! Good for you, be you for you and screw haters! Loved this poem. Instant click cos it mentioned my favourite liquid poison, lol, but stayed for the wonderful words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.