Poets logo

Short Poems

Vol. 5

By Joseph SeveroPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

“Beautiful composition;

Dutiful - on a mission:

To make a masterpiece from my old issues;

Took breaks to master me - won’t die from disuse

- In tune - Into big shoes -

Steps up after years of misuse;

Treat myself well these days, constrictions defused;

To be my best each way - there is no excuse -

I testify when I exemplify -

I assemble my own character

- and I’m sure not to defy my careful work

- I am preferred:

The true me stands confirmed.”

- Old Dying Joe

“As long as I’m here I’ll be fine:

Alongside oblong times I got stronger for life

- I belong to this instant

- not distant from visions I nurtured like infants:

How much longer ‘til they see sunlight?

The clouds are receding, cool colors retreating

- Some warmth starts to swarm and suprise;

A form in the distance initiates plights

- it’s a figment of me up ahead who is now on my mind, and he’s pleading:

‘Please do keep setting things right’

- It was fleeting, but deeply relieving

- The date I complete these dreams it seems nigh.”

- Old Dying Joe

inspirational

About the Creator

Joseph Severo

I’m Old Dying Joe.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joseph SeveroWritten by Joseph Severo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.