Poets logo

Short Poems

Vol. 1

By Joseph SeveroPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

“Passage of time; Palate for wine;

The Old is sublime; On the palette mix finehues - draw new lines;

The beauty, form both in mind;

The painting is moving - following eyes: The art is alive.”

- Old Dying Joe

“I’m ready to shake the unsteady;

Decisive and firmer already, I empty my pockets:

A broken watch-locket, the hands both have stopped

- It’s a monument - symbolic of time that dissolved considering too many options

- Now I know what I must do:

I must assume - resume the position - initiate;

Intimate minutes ensue posthaste - I won’t wait -

Boldface: ‘BOOM!’

The microphone’s checked;

Self-respect’s been detected - I will follow through;

Written words are transmitted - emit fitting sounds in the room;

Don’t afford the disorder:

Record and record ‘til the record spins true.”

- Old Dying Joe

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Joseph Severo

I’m Old Dying Joe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.