Poets logo

Shivers

Dark Acrostics 4

By Paul StewartPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
15
Shivers
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Can't breathe, suffocating as I'm waking up in sweat; with shivers flowing through me like river rapids

how can you betray me so, as I sleep? Why must you go into overdrive, the minute the lights go out?

only release to safety from it all is the waking world, until I fall again

knowing what awaits me, leaves me with shivers flowing through me like river rapids

it may not be real - I know. it is just a nightmare - I know. A nightmare where I was being choked. Choked by an unknown force. A nightmare that had me waking up gasping for air

nightmares, though surreal - come and go. Whether bad or good - they come and go

"goodnight, sleep tight", though, still sends shivers flowing through me like river rapids.

*

Thanks for reading!

Another dark acrostic inspired by a dream I had a few days ago. I had been lying on my back and fell asleep, something I try to avoid. Woke in sweat, gasping for air and my nose was a bit stuffy (which was obviously connected).

So, fun!

For something less dark -

For fun -

You can check out all my shenanigans with the written word here.

nature poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
15

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Very evocative, well done

  • Oh no, I hope you're feeling much better now. That must have been so unpleasant and terrifying. On a happier note, I absolutely loved your poem!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh my god, choking dreams are the worst! I had one where I was being strangled and simultaneously lifted off the ground by a demonic force that had possessed my mother. That was a few years ago, but I remember it like it was last night. And I’m lucky that I’ve only had sleep paralysis once. Because I know there are those who struggle with it often. But that was when I was 13, and the memory is so strong and vivid because of how terrifying it was. I dreamed something was strangling me. When I woke up, I couldn’t move, but my bed was shaking because this force was on top of me, still trying to strangle me. I could feel the pressure on my neck, feel the force weighing me down so I couldn’t move, and hear my bed springs clanging as the mattress bounced. But it lasted for like half a second. Then it was over like it never happened. I still think it did happen. I don’t believe the scientific explanations for things like that. I think something tried to overtake my mind in a dream… something tried to get in, some dark thought tried to implant itself, which is the true meaning of possession. But my mind was strong enough to reject it and wake me up.

  • "...me timbers!" I almost never sleep on my back, though I find it nicely comfortable--I'm rarely able to fall asleep until I turn on my side. If I do, the only thing that keeps me from having similar nightmares is my CPAP--& that's rarely enough.

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Fantastic job expressing a terrible experience! I’ve had those types of dreams before and they are terrifying. I have really bad asthma so the suffocation and gasping I can relate to on a real level. It usually works its way into my dream in the worst ways.

  • Good Job on writing this ❤️📝

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    You just keep on hitting them out of the park!

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    This is great! Dark and great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.