Poets logo

Shiny Shiny

Adam (Hazbin Hotel)

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Adam and Lute (not my art)

I don't recall being a boy

No knee-high to a grasshopper

I was the man, the first, the one that

Swallowed up the results of all of them

The reason of who and when and how

But being new from the red hot, suffocating soil full of suffering life

My breath of life through my Father

I longed to see through the eyes of my children

The shiny, shiny eyes that lingered on the forbidden tastes

Of distraction and pain

The pain of knowledge

With the tender bite of satisfaction

“Shiny, shiny,” my eyes read back to Eve

As she handed me such a treat

Such a trick

Shiny, shiny, my heart filled up with too much blood and love

I don't recall being a boy

I didn't have one such time I could create my boyhood in a treat

But boy oh boy

Was that bite delicious

Even after the war in my heart and mouth turned it to dust

Dust like me

I never wanted to forsake my Father

I was only one man

I grappled with the angles of despair as I haughtily exorcised

The following of hell

With an Angel by my side, like a part of my arm

I fell to the fiery pit, looking up at heaven

Remembering that first bite.

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Deep and soul searching. I wonder what I was during the early times, I may have been a boy, I have so much male hormones and a lot of hair. I really enjoyed this poem. Makes me think.

  • Oooo, so dark, intense and poignant! Loved your poem Merly!

  • All it takes is a single moment, a momentary whim, a whimsical bite to be lost for what seems like forever. "I don't recall being a boy...." Now there's a line that deserves some profound personal, psychological, emotional, soul-wrenching, theological exploration. What does it mean, never to have been a child?

  • love your story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.