Poets logo

Shed The Distractions

Heal From The Inside

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
12
Shed The Distractions
Photo by Heidi Kaden on Unsplash

Dazed and confused by the news on tv

I fear what effect it has on my sanity

Self help on the pod cast, trying hard to break free

Therapy for the therapist, providing therapy for me

Relax and set boundaries

Adjust your time, to just breathe

Carefully create moments, that heal what no one else sees

Take time for connecting, taking care of your needs

Insist on the you time, maintaining your, me

One more thing to remember, it’s ok to retreat

Never mind the consequences of doing what you need, it’s a necessary distraction from life’s reality

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautiful poem. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    I love the message in this poem 🥰💓

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Wonderful message, Kelli! I really need to follow this advice ❤️❤️❤️

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    A wonderful inspiration to read this morning :) And that picture looks so peaceful.

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    Loved the message of this and the rhyming and assonance. Very talented

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    My Insights are glitching but I would have added every one. THANK YOU for publishing this inspirational poem filled with meaning. It’s very real and I feel a deep connection. Plus you reflect and provide sage advice. ‘Carefully create moments, that heal what no one else sees Take time for connecting, taking care of your needs Insist on the you time, maintaining your, me …’ I re read again: ‘maintaining your, me …’ Pauline 🌸

  • Wise counsel. Now, if I could just persuade myself to follow it.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    OUTSTANDING WORK💜💜💜💜⭐️🌟🌟🌟🌟 KEEP THEM COMING!!!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    A brilliant piece and the last line brings all together like a good Lebowski rug! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.