Poets logo

She Said/He Said

a poem

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
3
She Said/He Said
Photo by Robinson Greig on Unsplash

she:

i blot my lips together

smile with my eyes before

i push open the wooden door

to the corner store…

bells ring

teddy p sings from the tiny metal box

next to the strawberry phillies

and those silly lil do- rags

that have been there since 1992.

you

are stacking the daily news

next to the courier, and i

find myself getting caught up

in the expansion and contraction

of your back muscles under

the black T.

i say good morning…

lemme get the daily

a pack of newport lights 100

n a couple loose jolly ranchers

you smile…

that smile.

that smile that is the precursor to a melding of joy, bliss

and satisfaction,

always wondered if it was a reaction to my presence

but was afraid to ask

i mask my nervousness with a girlish wave

a wink and a have a good day.

on the way to work i pop a peach

jolly rancher in my mouth

hand the homeless man

the newports and the paper.

he doesn’t know i read my news on the internet

and i quit smoking months ago.

he:

at seven twenty three

i casually, flip

the radio to the morning slow jams

as if i am creating the soundtrack to her existence

bells ring

the door opens and the breeze carries in

the essence of

cotton and peach trees

and as i rearrange these

papers for the third time today

i look in the mirror above the do-rags

so i can see the smile in her eyes.

she

lets her hips sway

back and forth like a metronome

as if she is counting the exact second

she says good morning to me

that exact second the sun shines

and i smile.

even though i wish she would stop smoking

i am doting on the fact that she takes an interest

in current events.

i smile again as i inhale her scent

she winks and i wonder if she read my mind

i wonder if she knew how much she was on my mind

i wonder what she would say if i told her the store

doesn’t sell loose jolly ranchers

they were mine.

***originally published by Michele Mitchell

love poems
3

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.