Poets logo

She's Home

Update

By Mother CombsPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
24
Photo by Mother Combs

Picked

Her up

Yesterday

Afternoon and

Brought her home. She’s been

Doing so much better.

Went to the tattoo parlor

And she got a spech designed

Tatt just for her drawing on her leg, to

Remind her that she has more to live for,

She is eating and joking around, just

Like old times. It is so nice to hear

Her laughter ringing out and

To see her smiling once

Again. To see her eat

A full meal without

Leaving a crumb on

Plate sets my

Mind at

Ease.

*******************************************************

She’s home

from the hospital

and doing

so much

better.

*

Making me

so happy.

*******************************************************

No lingering

problems

are showing

*

but she has

a long road

to recovery

Ahead

*******************************************************

In therapy,

she realized

she didn’t

want to die;

*

she just wanted

to sleep

*******************************************************

To remind

her that she

has more

to live for

*

she got a

Tattoo

*******************************************************

The tattoo

is a poison

bottle of

pink pills

*

and a Benadryl

name tag

*******************************************************

The tattoo

represents

the Benadryl

pills she took

*

to try to

end her pain

*******************************************************

The poison symbol

represents how

Over-the-counter

drugs can be toxic

*

if mishandled

and misused.

*******************************************************

She says

she knows

she fucked up,

*

but she will

never

do it

Again

*******************************************************

She will continue

with her many

therapy

sessions

*

and to take her

mood-stabilizing

Pills

*******************************************************

Thank you

for your prayers

and good

thoughts

*

while

she was in

the hospital

Photo by Mother Combs

performance poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction
24

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry6 months ago

    Your poem captures the joys and pain of being a parent.Here's to the road to healing!

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Bless her heart! I'm so happy that she's okay!!

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is great news!! Your poem brought tears to my eyes. My thoughts and prayers are with you and her.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Hi, I had no idea what happened and didn’t want to pry! Big hugs sent your way and to your daughter!! Such things are never easy to handle. Best wishes M Combs.

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    So sorry you're both going through such a tough time but glad she's doing better now, and I love the tatoo

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    That is wonderful knew. Wishing your family continued healing and happiness.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    So happy to heart she is home. Wishing you both continued healing prayers.

  • Judey Kalchik 6 months ago

    You have both been in our prayers!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Very happy to read this!

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    What a relief!💙And some of us get to live on to be elders!❤️

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    I wish her strength and determination. She will thrive with your unconditional love.

  • Rene Peters6 months ago

    I'm so happy that she's doing so much better!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    I am so glad to hear this news 💗💗💗💗Thank you for keeping us posted !!! 🙏🏽May she continue to recover successfully. The pictures shows what a strong young woman she is !!!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Ah, fantastic news, I'm definitely smiling as I read this!

  • Yayyyyyy I'm so glad she's back and doing wayyyy better. I'm a suicide survivor as well so I know how it feels. Also, I loveeeeee her tattoo!

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Being depressed means you need deep rest...I can feel the love you have for her and your relief. I read somewhere that a mother is only as strong as her weakest child....I have four children and I so believe that. Keeping you and yours in my prayers

  • Life can be such a struggle at times… wonderful that your daughter is home again.

  • Oneg In The Arctic6 months ago

    ❤️

  • I am so happy to hear this news. Your daughter is a beautiful young woman and right now she looks happy in the photo. She's where she belongs with her family.

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Heartwarming and inspirational!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.