Poets logo

Shattered

I am whole

By Paige Castor Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Shattered
Photo by Jeremy Yap on Unsplash

Sometimes I wonder

what life would be like

If I wasn’t a shattered mirror

An imperfect reflection of what could have been.

If the trauma never happened

and I did not feel so alone

If I did not feel the need to please

To be useful

Am I happy

Yes and No

I have learned I am fractured

A thousand pieces scattered everywhere

I do not think about it

But sometimes I feel the increasing wish

To melt it down and begin again

It’s all different right here and there

Every piece of me is sharp

But it can still reflect

Every piece is unique

And somewhere fits with another

A limited edition puzzle

For it is me

And it is beautiful

I am not like broken glass

That gets thrown away

For I still create

Reflecting the world that I see

A thousand colors

A thousand images

A thousand words

I have laid down gold

In between my cracks

I am like no other

For I am my self

And stories I see

A mundane life now

But filled with wonder

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Paige Castor

"The first draft of anything is shit." - Ernest Hemingway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.