Poets logo

Sharp little words

#Mentalhealthawareness #Bekindyoucantrewind

By MoriaCavandishPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Those words of yours,

sharp, cutting,

Piercing my skin, my flesh my soul,

And you watch me bleed,

Watch me fall to my knees unable to defend myself against such attacks, you tell us what is wrong, yet don’t really look,

Your assumption that crazy is our fault, yes that's what your words, your eyes tell me.

Rolling your eyes, that's helpful, we already feel so out of place in your world, so keep going, your eyes say so much..Dr. push those sharp words deeper into my flesh and my soul.

You're wrong, you're weak, you are a freak, I see what you do not say.

Yes yes, I know this already, it's a badge I wear with shame, because of people like you.

Thank you for pointing out all my faults, all the things I am doing wrong.

I am not blind to my own fault,

You are not god, stop pretending to be,

How presumptuous you are,

Nice new car, new yacht, new country club membership.

You can’t stop looking at your watch, thinking of your date for this evening?

I'm your last patient of the day.

I can feel the urgency, you want me to leave. Dinner party? Or are you already on your vacation, have you checked out early?

Your welcome, we paid for that. Again your welcome, just leave us in the cracks really it's fine. At least it shields us from your sharp horrible words dull and nul of any emotion, or compassion.

But I say nothing because it won’t help the situation, and who would listen to the ramblings of a freak, just a crazy old archaic freak.

Dressed in your best,

Education displayed on the wall,

Telling me who I should be, how I should act,

Dry those tears, they aren’t listening

Words scribbled on a file

Cockroach, frequent flyer, yes we know about your little lingo,

We know why no one takes us seriously,

Thanks for your judgment,

Perfection, you seem to covet the idea as if your shit doesn’t stink,

It does and so do the filthy words that come out of your mouth,

Try harder, stop acting crazy,

Acting, hmm, interesting,

Tired of the red tape,

No one should have to beg for help, degrade themselves for a moment of one's time.

Tired of the emotional whippings and snide comments

Nurses that take privacy oaths, which seem only to last until they are at the blackfish pub with friends, laughing so hard at our weakness. Isn't that against the law? Do we have no protection from flapping lips telling our deepest secrets to strangers that will laugh and point at us on the street. Yet we have no understanding why?

Do you know me? Did you really try to know me?

No you know what you’ve been told about me,

Sometimes the truth is hidden behind a wall of lies,

Most don’t care to dig past them, it's easier to stay just on the surface

Endless red tape, no help available.

People are dying, pay attention,

Words are like weapons, and we bleed

Oh do we bleed, but our blood isn’t good enough,

Not red enough, not rich enough, not educated enough

So this is where we go, into the cracks,

Deep and dark little cracks, this is where we go,

When everyone fails us,

Your words cut, and we bleed,

Deep down in the cracks. We bleed.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

MoriaCavandish

Born and raised on the beautiful West Coast in British Columbia Canada

All stories, poems, erotica and works are the sole property of

Moria Cavandish 2004- 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.