Poets logo

Shape up:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Shape up:
Photo by Yehor Milohrodskyi on Unsplash

My depression is slimming as a black dress;

Slenderize like I’ve forgotten to eat today

Force a smile,

Anxiety picking at me,

like I have food in my teeth!

A shower turns cold,

as I stand under the water

Arms like a rain coat,

Fingers scrub

my scalp abrasively

like a S.O.S pad

Grime of past weeks building up,

like fear

Laying in a towel,

sprawled out on the bed

Passive aggressively;

My head heavy

as a paper weight

on my pillow!

My compassion

reduced to tears

sour as amaretto-

Mourning the loss of years

in a fog-

Mind just, shape up!

Happiness feels phony,

like a punch line

straight to the gut

Isolation feels

more and more

like a fortress of solitude

I,

a better door

than fractures

on glazed window!

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.