Poets logo

Shame

A simple poem about the shame of breaking a gift given from the heart

By Alixzandra WisemanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Shame
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Tears can be a bitter reminder of foolish acts , your tears are my punishment to my childish behaviour and my tears are the shame and guilt for knowing what I did was cruel.

You, my love, my sweetest man, have everything you could wish for yet you promised things that would happen in the future I just need to be patent and wait, but I in selfish, childish stupidity, perhaps even in fear , cruelly destroyed a sacred place that we could of called our own.

You had told me to wait, to be patent so often, I felt like I was being led like the donkey with a carrot. So often you told me that things would come soon enough and that I just had to wait a little longer , but I thought too much and questioned my own mind , my own sanity to it all and as I slipping into insanity I could not bare to wait any longer and so in a childish fit of rage I broke that gift of deepest love.

I destroyed that music box out of my own selfish hurt , I don't think at the time how deeply it would wound us both, maybe I did not really care. I cut that portrait to pieces purely out of spit, so much childish rage but for what?

I thought it would make you listen, yet I should of just spoken up myself. But instead I showed I'm unstable, I've no right to wear that ring of deepest love and affection, but still it adorns my hand you bound it with magic and however much I may try and remove it, it still refuses to leave my hand.

I have been abandoned by your lords while they try to calm you down , their voices silent to me, I can not feel your energy either. I've tried to reach out to you but all I feel is betrayal and hurt. I betrayed you, I didn't listen and I should of listened, I should of even spoken up from deep within, if I had just waited I wouldn't now be crying , weeping the guilt and shame from within my heart.

I broke my own heart, by breaking your trust . I know you will not forgive me straight away, if at all ever , I just want you to know I care, that I do truly love you. That my how childish stupidity is because I'm scared to be hurt again.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.