Poets logo

Shadowy Grave

Forever unmarked

By Sean ArseoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Shadowy Grave
Photo by Lucas van Oort on Unsplash

You've heard before of shallow graves

Where the worst of worst lie their heads

Innocents too can lay their heads

In these graves from long ago

But there's a grave unlike all

In which I will lay my head

Shallow cave Ferrari not

My grave unique from the rest

The pain grows stronger every day

Pressure growing in my head

Ensuring death I know it brings

Like the sun brings morning light

Will I end it when it comes

Take thine gun and pull the trigger

Could I end it just like that

Easy out instead of pain

Or will I instead take the pain

Live each moment like my last

Try and make those moments count

Leave something for the future

To my grave I walk alone

By my side there can be none

I do not like being alone

But leave someone I want not

That's not to say I do not love

I do love her and really wish

Survive the distance I know we could

But afraid I'd leave her far to early

I love her dearly always have

Despite the distance lying between

Made it hard the first time

Can make it hard once again

I know my death is coming soon

Put it off I try and fail

My death comes quickly day by day

I know she knows we all know

Maybe there is a cure

Maybe it's her maybe her

Maybe she can cure me now

But my death is still coming

I know that she will bring it quicker

I know that she will kill me soon

I know that she will end my life

That sickness the distance that lays between us

To my shadowy grave I walk

All alone how ironic

My death is coming far to quick

Will I die today or yesterday

We're far to different from each other

She won't forgive me of my sins

We live to far from each other

So to my death I walk alone

My grave will not have my name

No date of birth or date of death

None will cry at my death

Celebrate instead they will

I know that she will bring it quicker

We're far to different from each other

There are some things we share between us

Enough to last there is not

I know that she will kill me soon

She won't forgive me of my sins

We've known each other far to long

Because of that it could never work

I know that she will end my life

We live to far from each other

I'll give her my love once again

She'll give me pain once again

Because of that I walk alone

My death I know is coming soon

One of them will soon kill me

One or two or maybe three

When I lie in my shadowy grave

Head and heart no longer work

Soul and spirit ground to dust

Only then will it be clear

No matter the answer I will be wrong

All can kill me all can cure me

She will kill me she will cure me

But who she is I will never know

She could be her it is true

There are some things we share between us

Complete fresh start it would be

Date a goddess among women

She could be her it is true

We've known each other far to long

It would be cliché I will admit

Would not stop me from dating her

She could be her it is true

I'll give her my love once again

Return it she would once again

Distance bedamned it wouldn't matter

She has the power of death over life

Cure me or send me to my grave

Who can cure me who can kill me

I do not know will never know

I walk alone to my grave

Pain in my head slowly spreading

Encasing my heart in icy grip

My death comes quicker day by day

When I die no one will cry

Jeers and shouts instead there'll be

They'll celebrate through the streets

They'll spit upon my shadowy grave

And as I lie in my grave

No tears will fall from my eyes

I'll give a sigh full of sorrow

I'll be alone in the shadows

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sean Arseo

Medical supply transporter by day, writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.