Poets logo

Sadly Taken

For JT

By Sean ArseoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sadly Taken
Photo by Christoph Krichenbauer on Unsplash

The day you were taken was like any other June day

The weather was hot and children were laughing

School was out and summer had just started the day before

For me it will be a day I will forever remember

A day that will continually haunt my dreams

Haunting my dreams until my dying day

The day you were sadly taken

They said you had a smile that would light the room

A smile that I will always remember yet never saw

A smile that I know will always be remembered

You laughter was contagious and addicting

At least that was what I had heard from people

The youthful jabbering mix only a baby can have

Lost the day you were sadly taken

Your mother's voice will forever haunt me

Dead her voice was as she called to tell me

Gone was the emotions it used to hold

Buried in her voice was something else

Underlying everything else as she spoke

Blame toward me for what had happened?

The day you were sadly taken

Deep inside I knew it was blame

Deep inside I believed it was blame

Deep inside I felt the blame myself

The world moved on as life continued

The world was oblivious as time stood still

Around a car holding a silently crying man

The day you were sadly taken

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sean Arseo

Medical supply transporter by day, writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.