Poets logo

Shadow of a Doubt

an acrostic poem

By Randy BakerPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
9
image generated by author using Midjourney

***

Every time I rise, you

close in on me,

like a dark shadow;

intercepting me,

preventing me from shining bright,

stealing my thunder,

eclipsing each moment that was meant to be mine.

***

Acrostic
9

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.11 days ago

    Awesome story and emotional love it

  • Anna 12 days ago

    So heartbreaking! I loved it!

  • M.12 days ago

    Neat. I sense the frustration in the text - which is great.

  • Heather Hubler12 days ago

    Really loved the image to start! And I felt like this was some kind of origin backstory for a dark superhero. Well done!!

  • Dana Crandell12 days ago

    There's always "that one." Great take on the challenge!

  • KJ Aartila12 days ago

    Gorgeous!

  • Ow! This is sweet Randy.

  • Paul Stewart12 days ago

    Oh wowser. This is magnificent, Randy. From that stirring image to your evocative words...so much said in so few words. Brilliance.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.