Poets logo

Separate Thoughts

When emotions become torn due to previous hurt.

By Alyssa RobertsonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
28

If yesterday is gone forever

And if tomorrow will never last,

I wish to sit here a little longer with you

While we pour another glass.

Let us talk about five years ago,

Go over your mistake.

I know not why you ever left

Only that life has been no piece of cake.

A mere moment was all I asked for

though that too seemed too much at the time,

All the red flags that kept coming

yet I sat waiting for a sign.

Indeed my yesterday's are gone

A great deal of my pain was because of you

You gave me a great gift

Then couldn't care less for what we had to go through.

Such a short time it has been

Still, this child knows so much.

It has been truly something

To see the lives she has already touched.

Each time she smiles

More healing that happens within the heart.

Small and helpless for a time

I knew though what I was in for from the start.

The tiny feet grew larger

So many other features gained from you.

Such faith shown in others

with no understanding of the hurtful things others do.

I do hope that you decide

That it is worth loving us long term

For walking away from her again now,

I fear would cause her gentle heart to become firm.

All I wish for is that she feels loved and wanted

In all the ways I never could feel

I will always stay the course for her

From now on, it's soul food for us, each and every meal.

Family
28

About the Creator

Alyssa Robertson

Mother to five beautiful souls, one never met. Photographer, artist and writer. I love animals and nature and I love giving a good read and opportunity for others to fall in love with a story.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Great poem!!!

  • This is beautiful

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    I love this very much, and your words resonate deeply with me. Well done on your Top Story.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Wow! Pretty deep words. I especially loved the last line! Well done and congrats!

  • Idogho Oghale2 months ago

    So interesting and easy to understand

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Very well written, congratulations on your top story. 

  • Great, mind catching and easy to understand..

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Powerful and poignant piece! The rhyme carried such a compelling flow throughout. Truly a poem with so much heart

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Test2 months ago

    Very creative!!

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Great poem!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.