Poets logo

Separate Lives

A short poem

By J.M. MoonPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6

How on earth can anyone be so assured?

What seems so simple, so demure?

A thought that's too cold to shoulder

And it's making me older

What could possibly be the lure?

*

Who is there for me to tell?

When I don't look so good or feel so well

A thought rests anxious in my stomach

And makes my heart plummet

Is this the prize for which I fell?

*

Who sees the pain in separate lives?

What he can't provide, I'll find inside

What was once my everything

Is now nothing

What's the point when he won't even try?

*

Every end has a start.

So, in good faith I'll search my heart.

But there are no answers to my questions

And the only thought that beckons

Are we better off apart?

*

So, are we better off apart?

Then it chills me to the bone

Because, if we're better off apart

Then why on earth do I feel

So incredibly alone

*

He left me alone, am I to blame?

Or was he never even really here?

So, on my knees in your place, God

With all of my faith, God

I'll ask you again, why did he disappear?

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

J.M. Moon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.