Poets logo

Separate Lives

splitting myself in two

By Gail S.Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2022
50
Separate Lives
Photo by Jonathan Farber on Unsplash

I live two separate lives

It’s very plain to see

One man who cares so little

One man who worships me.

.

This life is not so easy

To have my cake and eat it to

But I try to make it work

It’s all that I can do.

.

Some days are so much tougher

Than I thought that it would be

To split myself in half

But right now it works for me.

.

One man is right beside me

While the other seems far away

One speaks to me of love

The other has nothing to say.

.

I try to keep both happy

But my love it leans one way

Until I make some changes

This is how it has to stay.

.

My heart and soul are crying

To be with the one I love

Until the time is right

I must try to rise above.

.

Patience is the one thing

I really seem to lack

I know I lost my happy

I really want it back.

.

So I continue on my journey

Doing the best that I can do

Until the day comes finally

When I can always be with you.

.

I will wait for you my love

As long as it may take

For our lives to become one

A decision we will make.

.

I live two separate lives

And as hard as it may be

I hold the hope that soon one day

It will only be you and me.

.

Always, G.

love poems
50

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.