Poets logo

Selling soul

Poem

By dr.tonyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Selling soul
Photo by Raymond Perez on Unsplash

Selling Soul

“Wow… this is my first time winning this. Wish Solitaire; they say if you can win it in your first try, your wish could come true. It’s my third try, but I guess I’d say my wish anyway…” Then I heard sis chuckled softly as I clapped my hand the way someone praying in a temple.

“You know what… maybe you couldn’t win it before because you hadn’t had a wish.”

My eyes shot open upon this words. Turning to her, I was dazed. She was right that I wasn’t aware of my own wish… not until tonight, when I felt like being caught up in a tangle.

She just replied my dumbfounded look with that warm and gentle smile of hers.

I looked at the cards again then, all piles cleared into one, all paired in two. And the thought passed my mind: “Is it possible that disguise himself in trickery and cards play?” We both were aware that to believe a mere luck in card game could grant your wish is something against . Because then you were praying to the cards, not to the . What I did earlier was mainly meant as a joke. But…

“Why not?” I heard my sister replied to my thoughts. Seemed like I had spoken it out loud. And she went on, “You know what that one writer says — if only capable of good, then He is not the master of everything.”

I fell silent, pondering. The wish I just whispered in my heart still lingering at the back of my mind; like a ghost, like a longing, like a… calling.

“If… these are the days, when people antagonise … then what difference there is between selling your soul to Satan and selling your soul to ?” And slowly, a laughter followed after. Mine. I laughed at the absurdity of the idea. And the absurdly freeing feeling I finally tasted.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.