Poets logo

Self portraits

a poem

By Lucia LinnPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like
Self portraits
Photo by russn_fckr on Unsplash

All my self portraits are ugly,

My performance betrays

That pretty feels untrue.

I am no prideful Narcissus,

Perceiving a lover in that pool,

Perfection in reflection,

Drowning in depths of affection.

No I am not Pygmalion,

Creating a corpus

Better, more beautiful than reality,

Praying life where no life prior.

I am crueler,

Paving dark rings like roads

Into crumbling clay,

Developing despair,

Pillaging eyes of empathy,

Painting crooked what could be straight,

Making plump what I wish was thin.

Part of me always wishes,

Waits,

For those who see

To say

It doesn't look like me.

But peers and professors pile on applause,

They all open their mouths

And waggle their tongues,

Bobbing their heads like a beat on a drum:

"Wow.

What a likeness.

What a good likeness.

How exactly

Like you."

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lucia Linn

”Some days I feel like playing it smooth and some days I feel like playing it like a waffle iron.” -Raymond Chandler

Bits of fantasy and poetry and whatnot here, comedic comics on Instagram @mostlymecomics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.