Poets logo

Self- Love

A Love Poem

By ElsaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Self- Love
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

You left me bruised, beaten, belittled.

Behind your coward words you spit your hate.

My heart was left, tossed, and turned to brittle.

The first time I saw you, I really thought it was fate.

////

Each passing day turned gray.

Actions cut and filled my body with pain.

Your words were worse and I didn’t know what to say.

Your final goodbye left me insane.

////

Slowly, the months ticked

I started to love me and only me

Me, myself, and I, is who I picked

It was hard but in some way, you helped me see

My worth.

My value.

My heart.

My peace.

////

The months turned to years

The love for myself grew and grew

I let go of the past, my scars, and my fears

It was a long a difficult road I went through

////

The scars you left me, helped me

The words you cut me with helped me grow

The actions you showed, helped me be free

It was me and only me, I got to know

////

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Elsa

Teacher, traveler, fur baby mom, reader, and writer. I enjoy writing historical fiction stories, fiction, poetry, true crime, and nonfiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.