Poets logo

Seeing Through The Darkness

Inside Dementia

By Rosemary McManus ColemanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I look out and cannot see anything but a wall of darkness

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before

Now, though, I feel only the air thick and heavy, impenetrable

Slowly, my eyes catch miniscule patches of light

I'm hopeful that if I stare long enough, the light will grow and reveal the path

I'm frustrated

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before

Why does this take so long?

I want to use my hands to scoop away the darkness

I'm restless

I hear the sounds around me, different voices, high and low

I can't make out the words

I hear what sounds like my name but I'm not sure

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before

The dark is less heavy now, more fog gray than midnight black

I see the entrance to the path between two tall trees with an infinite number of leaves

I'm so close

I feel the fierce determination flow through my brain

I must get to the path

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before

I'm on the path

There is thick underbrush that grabs at my ankles, trying to hold me back

I focus on the growing patches of light

I keep moving

Sometimes it feels like I'm going at warp speed, jumping over obstacles

Other times it feels like my feet are cased in cement

I fear I will be stuck, lost forever in this dark forest

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before

The light grows

I can see her, not clearly yet, but I know I know her

It's safe to keep moving

I'm almost there

I see her smile, with warmth and love

I know I know her

I need more light to get to the end of the path

I must break through the branches trying to keep me back

There she is, my daughter.

Then the light fades

I look out and cannot see anything but a wall of darkness

I know there is a path through

I've seen it before.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Rosemary McManus Coleman

Explorer with a dash of daredevil walking through whatever door is in front of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.