Poets logo

Seeing In The Rain

Hidden In The Rain

By Dan R FowlerPublished 8 days ago 1 min read

Seeing In The Rain

There are those who walk in and out of my life,

Some bring moments of happiness, others strife.

But if it weren’t for the people all different I’ve seen,

I wouldn’t be where I am today or traveled where I’ve been.

There are those who’ve walked with me in the sunshine,

When things weren’t encumbered no misery entwined.

In the light, we’ve danced and we’ve often sung,

Along enchanted gardens laced with happiness and fun.

Yet, along other pathways, shadows often fell,

Creating mystical angel wings, yesterday’s stories to tell.

Clouds over weeping willows spread across the skies,

Illusions cast of phantoms, ghosts began to cry.

Storm clouds pressed against the mountain tops high,

Pushed the sun away causing our souls to sigh.

Trumpeting rainstorms that will never cease,

Sending sorrow’s droplets upon a face that creased.

In this graying world, this aged epoch of time,

I often see them those people who were kind,

But if not for the darkening night and falling rain,

Their haunting figures invisible would forever remain.

So come with me now into this storm of old age,

Walking bent over stumping greeting an occasional sage.

For it’s in these moments in this downpour of rain,

In the thunder I hear voices, see faces that’s why I came.

vintagesad poetry

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Rachel S8 days ago

    Profound and beautifully written!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.