Poets logo

secrets i'll never share

are mine to keep

By Nimish GounderPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
secrets i'll never share
Photo by Kristina Flour on Unsplash

the confetti-woven eyeliner drips down my cheek

it didn’t even make it to the morning



i move his hand off my exposed midriff

wearing crop tops flatter me

seeing the looks i get do not



i stumble out of bed

the cosmos from last night are still making me see stars



the mirror in the bathroom calls me

and i answer

but the person on the other side

isn’t someone i recognize



his face is painted with colors

but my eyes drift to his waist



a body that looks as good as his

will never again be adorned like this

what a waste



his eyes wait for me as i raise my head



my thoughts have never been a mystery to him

he’s been there for years now

and he has no intention of leaving



“it doesn’t have to be this way”

he mumbles as i drain the rainbow out of him



but he knows it does



it couldn’t be possibly anything else



because if he steps out of that mirror



i’ll no longer be a man

i’ll no longer be seen as a person

i’ll be just another label



sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nimish Gounder

Guaranteed to make you feel something

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.