Poets logo

Secret Meditations

A Nihilistic Introspection

By Ryan AppleyardPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Secret Meditations
Photo by Paul Rysz on Unsplash

Acid free paper mirrors whisper

my secrets back to me and

the horror of my words stems

from their inherent value.

Introspective inks stains

drip down to my bare thighs

in the beating beams of

bittersweet sunlight.

It occurs to me that every

speck of anything is as much

me as all but my thoughts,

my mind is its own, alone.

But when's the last time I rested

my hand on the bark of a tree

and pondered on its place here

or its connection to me?

Tree skin meditation allows

me to ponder its place and

relation to mine, will we be

cut down or will we be fine?

Redefine what is exceptional

and make space for the mundane.

Every home I had was empty

save for memory.

I'm not significant enough

to be significant in a world

of characters, I am the universes

marionette, plaster cast.

Empty barrels last the longest

and every trunk ring brings me

closer to the edge of a surface

I had no place on to begin with.

Perhaps my only chance at

unity is the melding of catastrophe.

To die is all we share and so

perhaps that's all I have to offer.

The melancholy mornings of

inevitable slavery to time

somehow keeps my feet moving

and yet I don't know where I'm going.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Appleyard

I just want to write stuff.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.