Poets logo

Seasons of Perception

Vocal Challenge Submission: Ode to An Ordinary Object

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 9 months ago 1 min read
11

you turn the sun to grey

as my world descends,

this realm now a vintage movie

coloured by your dark lens

.

winter’s silence chills my soul

as your veil degrades my view,

my wanton wonderland waning

ascribable to you

.

I vehemently refuse your proposition

returning you to source,

as I rise once again into joy

and the loving world that I endorse

.

my curiosity cautiously chooses another

and my world is coloured blue,

never did I see sky and ocean

enhanced by such depths of hue

.

you influence engaging philosophic contemplation

loud thoughts intertwine,

what sights do others behold

is their azure, as mine?

.

victorious vivacious vibrancy shared

of course you desire us to marry,

but your variable curtain of sadness

I no longer wish to carry

.

the zenith of your allure has peaked

your shroud has run its course,

although the many insights it bestowed

has me questioning this divorce

.

my conscience oppressed by insecurity

until the day I met you, Rose

and beheld the heavenly heartfelt harmonies

that your portal helped expose

.

illuminating realities canvas

as an eternal dawn,

comforting my heart

as I willingly become your pawn

.

materialised mask of manipulated joy

almost powerless to resist,

yet poison still invades my mind

and your pink canvas insufficient to assist

.

all that I once admired

becomes painful monotony,

your limitations irritate

as I rebel against resultant conformity

.

all beginning with one timely twisted thought

perhaps there is more

was that poison, or medicine?

regardless, I cannot ignore

.

contemplating, fixating, hesitating

I left Rose, to pursue

this deep longing for autumn

that led me to you

.

attracted by your charming chestnut cloak

and exuding magnetism

I promise myself to you always

hypnotised within your prism

.

you light every season with ethereal glow

comforting shaded days

with exuberant warmth

entirety now draped in golden haze

.

kindred kaleidoscope kisses

and my perception forever changed by you

our love will last the test of time

oh, sunglasses of golden hue

fact or fictionnature poetrysad poetrylove poemshumorheartbreak
11

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • MecAsaf9 months ago

    Fantastic work

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Some great words in here, I really like the rhyming pairs you've chosen (descends/lens, source/endorse) - dunno why, they just please me 😁

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    A harsh return to reality. Well done, Kayleigh!

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I felt like this when I met my "first", then your poem resembled him during the rough times and our eventual but obvious divorce. I thought I'd found another but, unfortunately, he was like my ex. Many years later, I found Mr. Right. 30 years later, we're still together. Great poem!!

  • Judey Kalchik 9 months ago

    A walk through the hues that can color our world- well done and great vocabulary and structure

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    What a gorgeous ode, Kayleigh!! The cadence was like a song, and there is so much richness and depth to each line. This part in particular reminded me of a piece I wrote a while back, but is such an awesome question: “what sights do others behold is their azure, as mine?” I love that contemplation of perception. Absolutely brilliant job! So glad I have subscribed to you! 💫💞

  • Gosh your choice of words and the way you weaved it together into this ode was sooooo mesmerising! Such a wonderful job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.