Poets logo

Seasonal Blues

Every Season

By Joni ÉcritPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Seasonal Blues
Photo by Kacper Szczechla on Unsplash

Why do I miss the snow in the summertime?

Aching for home, past the county line.

Yet in the cold, I cry out for warmth.

Something to keep. Something of mine.

Why do I want to be alone?

I can dance around and sing out loud.

Let myself smile a little if I'm still allowed.

When it's sunny and bright I miss Christmastime.

Gingerbread houses, chestnuts on an open flame.

The streets were alive with shining colorful lights.

But all grown up, it's just not the same.

Why do I crave company?

We sit around, what do we even talk about?

Wine in hand...

Smiles all around...

Empty eyes looking straight through.

I didn't think seasonal blues,

could happen all year round.

sad poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Salman siddique5 months ago

    it was great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.