Poets logo

Screams Inside

Just Smile

By Virginia ShefcykPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wake up every morning, routines awaiting

How did I let my life become this way?

My hands are shaky, wet with sweat

My brain is cloudy, and full of regret

This life I have, is just a mess

A circus act, a zoo, a crash of disorder

But I smile, my eyes bright and open

Hiding this feeling has become easy,

No longer makes me queasy

No longer stops the social interaction I'm expected of

I won't dissapoint anymore,

I'll make everyone happy, at my expense

I hope it's worth it

I hope it makes you happy

I hope it makes you smile

I hope you know that there's no denial

None from me, I don't deny my act

I stand here proudly, accept my fate

To please others instead of myself

So that I can exist on this earth without question

I am smiling

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Virginia Shefcyk

Hello! I am a mom to a little boy and a girl, an avid reader, and a lover of all things that make myself and others happy. Writing is the best way to express my feelings on life, love, and anything I'm passionate about. Hope you enjoy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.