Poets logo

Scraps whispered to the wind/ spilled groceries

LNoelle

By LNoelle Published 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
LNoelle

Scraps whispered to the wind

No one taught me the way words

Could carry

once written down

and folded up

then torn into little pieces

and traded off into a gust

from standing on a snowbank

in the pale and misty firs

no one had to teach me

I just knew how to say

goodbye to her

my little hands were heavy

but I remember still the stream

of tears

that streaked down each cheek

and I must have seemed

a painting to a parent

that made sense

for being real

***

Spilled groceries

Once I was an automaton

afraid to be anything at all

mostly of my human self

and in the ways I can't add up

And you,

what are you afraid of?

To be a stranger, to be loved?

I saw a mother drop her fruit

on the ground but I couldn't pick it up

there was a line unseen between us

that said

'helping is too much'

so the apples rolled across the ground,

and I was an automaton, in a human shell

only

craving love

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsart
Like

About the Creator

LNoelle

Poet, philosopher, witchy woman/goblin. Jill of all trades with a passion for life & the freedom for all to live & love deeply & truly.

Dabbler in art (wonky original works seen here) and tend to overuse "ashes", psychoanalyze if you must.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.