Poets logo

School Pride

Poetry: Self Expression

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
School Pride
Photo by Brett Andrei Martin on Unsplash

School Pride

For the last three years I had an identity,

A place that elevated my passions,

Added substance behind my dreams,

And created a new place to call home.

A place that I could call mine,

Where I could grow, learn and meet others with similarities,

A place that gave my name and aspirations, purpose.

I’ve left with far more than a piece of paper on a wall,

Or another credential to add to my resume,

I left with experiences that have both made my world more,

And feel more loss than ever before.

I moved into this mountain town with a fresh slate,

No one who even knew my name,

Or the family I belonged to,

And that's exactly what I wanted.

A polka dotted filled room full of freedom and individuality,

That first night I rested my head in the dorm,

It was a true realization that I was alone,

And finally on my own.

Classes that would build the bases to my future,

First days to meeting friends that last a lifetime,

Test and projects that would challenge my wellbeing,

But all was aimed with purpose.

A purpose that my actions,

Were mine,

My successes and failures,

Were mine,

My best and worst choices,

Were mine,

Whether I wanted them to be or not.

Those three years,

There was so much I learned,

So much I felt,

And so much I am grateful for.

That first year,

Was full of realizations and new experiences,

I figured out that finding your place didn't have to include color schemes and obligations,

How smoothies were my best friends and meal plans stretched further than you'd think.

A lesson that some friends should just stay friends,

And that there is a mesh of confusion between love and lust.

Then in my second year I learned,

The lapse in lost chances, and the vow to never take life for granted,

I experienced the unfiltered, unforgiving process of grief from losing a friend too soon,

How manipulation has stronger ties then your will to break away,

And the value that comes with reconnection, attraction and excitement to explore.

My last year involved,

The confident idea that I could accomplish anything I wanted,

But in trade disregarding that I am only human and how health matters,

I was blessed with capturing the small and amazing moments with great friends,

But trapped knowing these special times with these special people would soon expire.

These last three years were mine,

And they made me so much of who I am today.

They taught me what love is and what it isn't and what it's like to be loved,

They taught me about balance, and how that's something I need to work on,

They showed me the pain of loss, but the empathy of understanding it,

And they showed me a lot can happen in three years.

I miss those moments with friends,

The availability of a meal plan,

The excitement and comfort of being in love,

And the individuality and purpose belonging there brought.

NAU will always be my school,

Where I once belonged,

What guided my passions to where I am today,

And to hold onto the experiences that help me decide my tomorrow.

Three years later,

I left with far more than a diploma,

I left with a grateful heart full of experiences.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.