Poets logo

Schizophrenia Unraveled

Passing down the voices

By brooke vecchiPublished 4 months ago • 1 min read
2
Schizophrenia Unraveled
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

A moment of peace as I drink my second cup of coffee today,

Breathing slowly as I take in the morning sounds around me,

Creating a schedule for myself I already know will overwhelm me,

Dotting on my son as he stims around the room around me,

Everett stims faster and faster as the psychosis of the day begins,

For a moment I stop to watch him,

Growing admiration for all that he endures at such a young age,

He self-soothes and calms as the voices get louder,

I wonder who he will grow up to be in a world of stigmas and misunderstanding,

Just hoping the world, he grows into is kinder than my own,

Kisses and hugs are rare but full of promise as he learns to be,

Love for a child that has inherited the monsters in my own mind,

My sweet young boy who has more tools than I ever did,

Never would I allow him to inherit my trauma like he inherited my diagnosis,

Only I can prepare him now and put aside myself for him,

Preparing him for a world that labels him dangerous,

Quietly reassuring him as he wakes from his nightmares,

Remembering the first and every hospital stay since,

Showing him the world that he can have,

Talking him through every moment he huddles down into a world he should have never had to live in,

Understanding the world may never show him the kindness he receives in these four walls,

Victory has different definitions on the hardest days,

When there are holes in the doors, but he did not harm a person,

X-rays of a brain that will never look like his classmates sit in a folder in my office,

Zen music plays in the background of a child who lives in three places, his home, the hospital rooms and the nightmares of his mind.

Prose
2

About the Creator

brooke vecchi

long time writer, new to rv living. restarting my vocal journey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    I would think if you went to the right doctors they should come up with a medicine. I had one friend that looked like she was sleep walking, she was on so many wrong meds. Some of the meds also rob you of your interests and hobbies- also the wrong meds. Other meds get rid of the dreams but cause other symptoms - wrong med. I unfortunately do not know the right med since I have never heard voices. One lady I talked with did not want to loose her voice, it was her friend. All I succeed to do was agitate her. My old physical said that most of his patients asked for anxiety meds. A lot of people are on mental health meds. Drs just need to get to know their patient before they prescribe meds, and they don't. One person told me he could diagnose someones illness in ten minutes. In my view that is impossible. I have a lot of views on mental illness. Some of which have ben proven wrong. The meds should make it easier to make your way in our world, not harder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.