Poets logo

Say My Name

Poetry

By Emily Farraige Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Say My Name
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Say My Name

Everyone thinks that the name that someone else gives you is your name,

but what if it feels wrong?

Like a picture frame slightly off centre.

Or eyebrow hairs facing the wrong way.

Sure you can barely notice it,

however over time you can’t pretend that it doesn’t bother you.

Say my name.

I’m tired of making other peoples lives easier by holding this parasite in me.

Why cannot we choose our own journeys?

Not let someone else choose just because they already had a plan for us.

Say my name.

Isn’t my life?

My picture frame has been off centre for my whole life.

It took me years to figure it out why.

Say my name.

No,

not my birth name,

but my real name.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emily Farraige

Hi!

My name is Emily. I’m disabled and in a wheelchair. I love fashion and pop culture. I’m a burlesque dancer. I just want to keep it honest about my daily experiences, and hopefully help people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.