Poets logo

Saving Face

How an Adequate Woman Becomes Remarkable

By Nonnah FainPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Work

A woman should never give more than she needs

especially when she takes less than she bleeds

what was the wrong answer, the right one, the left

so many voices, I'm stagnant, I'm deaf.

When given a task to earn a living,

this place, this thing, this air, this land,

this world will expect to give more than you're giving

wanting, wishing, waiting in hand.

Nothing is harder

than living a fight.

A fight where you know you can beat all the hype

My God, the word wreaks of a hundred different lights.

How can I give when I am left raw.

My enemies taunt me as if I am flawed,

giving, wanting, wishing, waiting,

seeing, loving, having, craving.

I'd like to show you two-by-two,

or take you out for drinks and food.

No matter the number, symbol, the key,

the answer is always in front of me.

When given a task to earn a living,

this place, this thing, this air, this land,

this world will expect to give more than you're giving

wanting, wishing, waiting in hand.

The time that "tiks" on every clock

is an adequate "tik" to every "tok".

Evening, morning, even dawn

supplies you with what can go wrong.

In the night, we do not know

since we are gone asleep.

We race like sleuths through the night

to find ourselves at peace.

How can I give when I am left raw.

My enemies taunt me as if I am flawed,

giving, wanting, wishing, waiting,

seeing, loving, having, craving.

Nothing is harder

than living a fight

a fight where you know you can beat all the hype

My God, the word wreaks of a hundred different lights.

When given a task to earn a living,

this place, this thing, this air, this land,

this world will expect to give more than you're giving

wanting, wishing, waiting in hand.

A woman should never give more than she needs

especially when she takes less than she bleeds

what was the wrong answer, the right one, the left

so many voices, I'm stagnant, I'm deaf.

art

About the Creator

Nonnah Fain

My muse is mental health. I get a high off of writing. I write about everything, we are all walking stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nonnah FainWritten by Nonnah Fain

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.