Poets logo

Saved

If you think you’re free, then you can’t escape

By Jake LoPrestiPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1

Oh Lord, I stayed up and prayed up

To see if I‘d receive a layup

Couldn’t receive with my filled cup

So, you came full force to disrupt

I remember praying to the universe for answers

I remember praying to the players and the dancers

Every other source just turned into a cancer

The lies of the bearer of light piercing like a lancer

Finally one day you heard me in the blinding dark

Your love and grace bit into my life like a shark

Everything I held onto began to fall apart

You shone through the illusions and got to my heart

Thank you for destroying my life

Thank you for the struggle and strife

Thank you for cutting like a knife

And leading me to you through the love of my wife

I’m still stuck at times and remain in sin

I’ve missed the mark once and I’ll do it again

I’m met with mercy for my contemplation

You help me open my soul to let you come in

Oh Lord, I pray every day to you

Help me wash away that which is not true

Help me fight the battles that are hard to get through

Help me surrender everything so you can do what you do

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jake LoPresti

I write in search of ultimate truth. Beyond light and dark, and through love. Life is a series of waves to catch and I’m just looking for the right one to ride.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was very positive and uplifting. Awesome poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.