Poets logo

Sandpaper Soul

Past in Poetry

By Frank GeierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Sandpaper Soul
Photo by sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

Scritch scratch go the words against my skin

Cruel sounds that burn and dig into my flesh

The words scrape across my muscles

Wriggle over my nerves

Rattle in my bones.

Sometimes I wish they’d hit me in silence

Spare me the acid bath of fetid language dripping from

Forked tongues.

The words burrow down into me, icing my heart

Numbing my mind

Nesting themselves in my very soul.

So that when I breathe

I feel the pain of it

The coarse rough paper shaving away

My humanity.

Wood workers use sandpaper to rub out the imperfections

To buff out th ugly bits

I can’t help but wonder what happens to all the wood that’s scraped away

What happens to all those scrapings

What if the woodworker’s never happy?

What if he just keeps sanding away the dirty parts

The ugly parts

What happens to that dust?

What happens to the dust of me?

sad poetry

About the Creator

Frank Geier

Tennessee based scribe of Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror. Come on, join us in the dark. There are such things to see.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Frank GeierWritten by Frank Geier

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.