Poets logo

Samurai

The healing powers of Ramen

By Rain Christi Published 8 months ago 1 min read
1
face off in the mirror

thousands of miles from home

Know no one like I know me

Street food and Vietnamese temples. Rain and reminders of who I am meant to become. Ho Chi Minh walked these streets. My feet seem to know the way.

New foods. Stinky fruit: smells like feet. So loud I have to ask my classmates to get it out of the dorm! New vegetables, tons of seafood. Three caves and Monkey Island. Rock face climbing and boats that just don’t seem sea worthy.

Street food and rides on mopeds 🏍️ so many adventures. So many horns and so many people driving in every direction at once. Pianos and classes and new thoughts and new friends.

Snake 🐍 in the bottle of rice wine; hit more like moonshine. Sicker than I’ve ever been. This was nothing I had ever felt before. My intestines were churning. Vietnamese doctor brought me medicine. Even sicker after taking. In the room alone shaking.

Can’t eat. Can’t keep anything down. In the mirror in the hotel. 25th floor. It is not my face I see. A samurai is staring back at me. Past life?

Back in the overly comfortable hotel bed. Can’t keep a straight thought. Door opens and all the Vietnamese students and my USF classmates come in and lay flowers 💐 and pineapples and other gifts on the bed around me.

Felt like I almost died. Three days and finally I can eat. My Vietnamese friend and roommate brings me a bowl of ramen. Chicken broth she says. Says it’s time to feel better. Tells me this will be my miracle.

Not sure if I ever tasted anything better. So much healing ❤️‍🩹 so much love 💗 so much strength 💪

Get up ⬆️ and enjoy my last few days in Vietnam 🇻🇳 all worth death 💀 faced. The Samurai in the mirror stays with me still. All for the healing power of Ramen and Vietnamese traditions.

I will go again some day. See you soon Vietnam.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Rain Christi

I am a woman on a mission. First imperative approach: personal evolution. Live. Learn. Teach. Next step is sharing the knowledge gained with receptive parties. I believe that the arts are an amazing way to connect with a variety of people!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.