Poets logo

Same World New Perception

Breaking the Cycle

By 3EBMPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
An Inner Conversation

Far too long I have lived within this same cycle

Don’t get me wrong, I'm not ungrateful for life

I'm just tired of this default setting

No matter the highs, the lows are soon to follow

At least that's what it always seems like

A good day? A good week? Shit, I'm just trying to have a good moment

I begin to create the fact “This is just a part of life”

I’ll ride the highs, manage the lows and enjoy happiness when it finds me

In life this is all I know

This is what most people experience too

Right?

But why?

Why have I limited myself to the power of miracles, luck, chance and labels?

When do I decide to stop being a victim?

When do I accept the fact that I am in complete control of my reactions?

Understanding that those reactions are born from my perception, which defines my reality

So if everything is always happening to me, I have now given the power of my perception over to chaos

Due to the lack of perceived control within chaos I begin to spiral

Wake up Monday like “Fuck”

Pull up at work like “Fuck”

Not realizing I spent the majority of my day with a negative perception because it feels good to receive sympathy when I complain

But, it's not all bad I guess

The media makes for a great distraction

I can always count on the entertainment & religion industry to help me find moments of Peace and Happiness as I look outside myself with hopes to fix within

I can’t be too down because in the face of eternity 60 - 80 years of this doesn't sound to insufferable

Or

I take control

I hold myself accountable for everything in my life

But that’s hard! And suffering has become easier to manage with the right excuses

It's easy to be powerless when you identify with everything and everyone around you

So why not try something new?

For at least 90 days

I hold myself accountable for everything I can control (Me)

Be more mindful about my reactions, and change to a positive perception in that same moment

Meditate with the intention to heal my inner child, and forgive myself

For 90 days I will view everyone as a reflection of myself

Always looking to learn/teach

I will exercise regularly, I will make better eating choices and cook more often

I will read a minimum of 1 book a week

Each morning I will meditate on 5 things I'm grateful for before putting my feet on the ground

When something feels off, I will question it

I will not apologize for being me

I’M enjoying this journey

I’M smiling

Everything will work out perfectly

Because I attract everything, I truly want to me.

-3EBM

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

3EBM

I’ve found so much truth in this journey that I want to share it with all willing to listen. Especially during these times. Some of my publishing’s may upset you or uplift you. Just know, I love you. Remember Humanity first.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.