Poets logo

Salve

The cure for invisible ailments

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Salve
Photo by Erke Rysdauletov on Unsplash

I never expected

The taste or the texture

Of the crevice of his neck

Warm sweet skin

Sweat that glistens

I’m helpless at his beck

And call I’d pin reason

To the wall run away

Give my all to the man

With the kindest lion’s heart

He holds me together

Through every storm we weather

And keeps me from falling apart

I adore him my treasure

In his arms purest pleasure

He fills the holes in my soul

He stood by me strong

That’s how I knew all along

Even though tragic life takes its toll

He’s my better half

The one I would miss

After every stolen kiss

He lent me the rod and the staff

To carry on through the race

So we put on a brave face

And disappeared without a trace

He sends magic through my veins

He has become the very air

Birdsong without a care

Reminding me always of who reigns

We found faith in each other

Care like a father and mother

To replace the ones we don’t have

For the wounds inside me

The cure he will be

Love is the most potent salve.

love poems

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily DickersonWritten by Emily Dickerson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.