Poets logo

sage

a poem on loss

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
A bundle of sage being burnt

There was sage

At 4 am

I smelled it burning

through the vents

When the house was silent

and blanketed in shadows.

There was sage

when you passed

filling up my nostrils

conjuring my spirit

to say farewell to yours.

There was sage

smoke lingering in my lungs

like your embrace.

Now I’m left to wonder,

if there’s any embers of you left.

I wrote this the day I lost a loved one. I smelled sage all morning before I learned that they had passed like a little message that they were moving on peacefully.

The universe always has something to tell us.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.