Poets logo

Sacred Sisters

An Alphabetical Adjuration of The Nine Muses

By D. J. ReddallPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

After millennia, I believe you abide

Beautiful, enigmatic; it is inspiration that you provide

Consoling, cajoling, filling frail, mortal vessels; of ideas are you the mothers

Deeming some worthy of astonishing feats, deploring the folly of others

Euterpe, giver of many delights, of the lowly lyricist, benevolent assister

For your aid I humbly pray, eldest sister

Giver of perfumed boons, teaser of tongues, trust in my fealty

Harken, I implore thee, to my plaintive entreaty

If I am worthy, bless my fallible fingers; make them dance on the keys

Joke with Erato, your lovely sibling; every rapturous embrace, she sees

Keep her lascivious, languorous lyrics for me

Lift my small syllables to Clio’s ear; let me tell of what is and has been, per her decree

Make history a steadfast foundation for my creations, please

Not wishing to neglect Calliope, to her in turn I offer my devotion; my futile striving let her ease

Onward toward epic grandeur I move, Homer I humbly emulate

Pause each morning I shall, to watch Dawn’s rosy fingers, a healing glow do they generate

Questing through inky darkness, fulminate against night with light

Regard with mercy my efforts, Melpomene, majestic and melancholy; your sad eye I would delight

Sure of my faith, remain; from hamartia to catastrophe, tragedies for you I will forge

Terpsichore, I am no dancer; let my language pirouette nonetheless to your lyre; poems would I disgorge

Under your stars, Urania, I labor; let them flash and sparkle in my living lines

Veiled and vivacious, view favorably my songs, mistress of music, Polyhymnia; bless my designs

Welcome my offerings, smiling Thalia, sovereign of satire, princess of puns; I kneel at your shrines

Xenophobia abjure; wink at this sad stranger, joking for your amusement; do not my efforts deride

Your love I covet most, mistress of irony, grinning and japing and puncturing pride

Zeniths of wit are only attainable with your magnanimous leave; may your power and mercy abide

inspirational

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Wonderful poem! Happy to hear you know your abcs D.J! I don’t know much about these goddesses but found this illuminating. What is the structure you are using for each line? Similar to sonnets again… regardless it works very well.

  • K. Kocheryan5 months ago

    Wow, this was creative. Lovely work!

  • Whoaaaa, you blew my mind with this one! You're so freaking brilliant to come up with this idea!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Those lovely Greek goddesses/muses are smiling today at your lyrical prose and mastery of the written words. Listen for siren songs...jealous they may be. Great poetry.

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Muses? The alphabet? Other classical references to wow? Nice, D. J.! Very nice indeed! Those muses are some beauties, eh?

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.