Poets logo

S & M?

Social Media on my Mind

By Kendall Defoe Published about a year ago 1 min read
12
S & M?
Photo by Nishaan ahmed on Unsplash

'Hell talkt my brain awake.' - John Berryman (Dream Song 30)

*

Dear cellphone,

You have ruined my life

based on all your

treats and toys

(an incredible lie

of silent noise).

*

Dear Facebook,

A letter for you as well:

you can go to hell

for wasting my time

(here's two whole rhymes).

*

Dear Instagram,

I already wrote about you,

so I won't say much

(listened to and repeated;

you may be seated).

*

Dear Twitter,

You are the worst.

Blue check marks or not,

I follow and remain

(fully there; not as a plan

or Elon's fan).

*

Dear Snapchat,

I never used you,

never saw any point to it.

So, little from me

(that seems tame

without some blame).

*

And to the rest of you,

conducting S & M:

you really did not see

those hard initials

(sado or masochist?

You made my list).

Absolutely...

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentarylistfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    X, formerly known as Twitter, even worse than before.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I long for the pre social media days. Except for Vocal and Google and Wikipedia the free encyclopedia. What? Some have a few uses, otherwise, totally agree.

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I was interrupted by Facebook Messenger 4 times while reading this. lol Great job on this, Kendall!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Ha. Brilliant, this is a rinse a repeat work of art.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Superb! Preach it Kendall!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.