Poets logo

Running on Empty

By Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Running on Empty
Photo by Axel Bimashanda on Unsplash

I ran away.

I was running around with degenerates,

Running wild,

Running in circles,

Running from my own demons.

*

My running from my own responsibilities

Made me run hot.

I was running out of time.

After a run in with the law,

I started running in a new direction.

*

I gave life a trial run.

I ran races.

I ran into friends.

I ran errands, simply to be nice.

I made a run for student counsel president.

Heck, I really gave it a run for the money.

But, my opponent ran away with the win.

*

I still feel like I hit a home run.

Now that I am running my own show,

No more running!

By Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

inspirational

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julie LacksonenWritten by Julie Lacksonen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.